NEWS FLASH: Jim Joyce blows call at first base

Umpire Jim Joyce.

A (sorta) close call at first base.

What could possibly go wrong?

Well, this:

Nats_1

That was Danny Espinosa, clearly beating David Freese's throw to first base after a lovely bunt with a runner already aboard. Yeah, in real time it was a really close play. It fooled Bob Costas, anyway. But umpires are going to call this play correctly ... what? Nine times out of ten? More?

So thanks to Joyce, the Nationals had a man on second with one out -- Espinosa got credit for a sacrifice hit, even though he wasn't really trying for one, not with the No. 8 hitter due next -- instead of two aboard with nobody out.

Chris Carpenter easily retired Kurt Suzuki and Edwin Jackson to preserve the Cardinals' 1-0 lead, heading to the third inning.

Trending Discussions

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Baseball Nation

You must be a member of Baseball Nation to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Baseball Nation. You should read them.

Join Baseball Nation

You must be a member of Baseball Nation to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Baseball Nation. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker